National Lutheran Secretariat

Annual Meeting

Minutes of July 27 to July 29, 2023 Meeting



Present

John Aclin, Steve Barnett, Pastor G. Karl Gaston, Brian Schwartz, Karen Weires, Jane Winge, Carolyn Witham, and authorized delegates as listed on the delegate attachment.

Absent

The secretariats absent from the meeting are listed at the end of the attached delegate list.

Thursday, July 27, 2023

Seating of Delegates, Prayer and Commissioning

Carolyn seated the delegates present in the room at University of Indianapolis. She advised that a quorum is present as there is at least one authorized delegate representing 31 secretariats and all seven regions.

Pastor G. Karl opened with prayer then commissioned the delegates for the 2023 National Lutheran Secretariat (NLS) annual meeting (NLSAM).

Call to Order

John called the NLSAM to order and introduced the members of the NLS Executive Committee.

Nominations for NLS Executive Committee (NLSEC) positions

John announced the names of the individuals presented to the NLS by the nominating committee for election to the NLSEC:

- Secretary Carolyn Witham
- Vice President (VP) of Outreach (VPO) Karen Weires
- President Brian Comeno and Jane Winge

John reviewed the election process and proceeded with floor nominations as follows:

Secretary: John opened the floor for nominations for Secretary. The question was brought forth three times. No nominations were made from the floor. John closed the nominations for Secretary.

VPO: John opened the floor for nominations for VPO. The question was brought forth three times. No nominations were made from the floor. John closed the nominations for VPO.

President: The floor was opened for nominations for President. The question was brought forth three times. No nominations were made from the floor. John closed the nominations for President.

Kim Brownlow made a motion to close all nominations and Raleigh Sandy seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Bobbi Jo Koski made a request to accept Carolyn Witham as Secretary and Karen Weires as VPO by

acclamation and Raleigh Sandy seconded. John asked if there were any objections. As none were raised, John declared that Carolyn and Karen were elected to the positions of Secretary and VPO, respectively, by acclamation.

Presentation of the Proposed 2023-2024 Budget

Treasurer Steve Barnett presented the proposed budget for 2023-2024. Steve answered questions raised.

Recess

John announced that, unless there was an objection, the meeting would recess until 2:15pm EDT Saturday. No objections were raised. By acclamation, the meeting recessed.

Saturday, July 29, 2023

Quorum declaration

Carolyn confirmed that the delegates present in the room at University of Indianapolis continued to constitute a quorum. At least one authorized delegate representing 31 secretariats and all seven regions were present.

Call to Order and Prayer

John reconvened the NLSAM and Pastor G. Karl prayed.

Election and Budget Approval

Delegates filled out paper ballots for President and to approve or disapprove the proposed 2023-2024 budget. Pastor G. Karl, Brian Schwartz, and Steve Barnett tabulated the results.

Election – Brian Comeno was elected to the NLSEC as the President.

Budget – The proposed 2023-2024 budget was approved.

Financial Review

The Financial Review committee presented a motion to approve the fiscal year end May 31, 2023 financial reports. John asked if there were any objections. No questions or objections were raised. John declared that the financial reports were approved by acclamation.

Other Announcements and Business

Announcements – Jane spun the 'wheel of names' and announced that Craig Sagebeil won the survey raffle.

State of Via de Cristo – John shared remarks about the state of Via de Cristo. While three secretariats did close this past year, many others are now emerging from the pandemic: holding weekends and ultreyas.

Brenda Accola made a motion to destroy the 2023 ballots. Madeline Jean seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

Dennis Lawson Sr. made a motion to destroy the 2022 ballots. Debbie Janies seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

A motion to adjourn the 2023 NLSAM was made Bobbi Jo Koski, seconded by Lindsey Brown, and then passed unanimously.

Closing Prayer – Pastor G. Karl closed the meeting with prayer.

Next Meeting – The next NLSAG will be hosted by Light in the Desert and held at the Plaza Hotel in Las Vegas, Nevada Thursday, July 25 to Sunday, July 28, 2024. The theme for the 2024 NLSAG comes from Hebrews 12:1-2: "Therefore, since we are surrounded by so great a cloud of witnesses, let us also lay aside every weight and the sin that clings so closely, and let us run with perseverance the race that is set before us, looking to Jesus the pioneer and perfecter of our faith, who for the sake of the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, disregarding its shame, and has taken His seat at the right hand of the throne of God."

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Witham