National Lutheran Secretariat





Minutes of July 25 and July 27, 2024 Meeting

Present

Steve Barnett, Brian Comeno (BC), Pastor G. Karl Gaston, Karen Weires, Jane Winge, Carolyn Witham, and authorized delegates as listed on the delegate attachment

Not Present

Secretariats with no authorized delegates at the meeting are listed at the end of the attached delegate list.

Thursday, July 25, 2024

Opening Prayer, Seating of Delegates, Quorum, and Commissioning

Pastor G. Karl opened with prayer. Carolyn seated the delegates present in the room at the Plaza Hotel. She confirmed that a quorum is present as there is at least one authorized delegate representing over half of the current affiliated secretariats^{*} and all seven regions. Pastor G. Karl then commissioned the delegates for the 2024 National Lutheran Secretariat (NLS) annual meeting (NLSAM).

Call to Order and Introductions

BC called the NLSAM to order and introduced the members of the NLS Executive Committee (NLSEC).

Nominations for NLSEC positions

BC announced the names of the individuals presented to the NLS by the nominating committee for election to the NLSEC:

- Treasurer Jerry Gray
- Spiritual Director (SD) Pastor G. Karl Gaston
- Vice President (VP) of Administration (VPA) Sue Bathe, Carolyn Witham

BC reviewed the election process and proceeded with floor nominations as follows:

Treasurer

BC opened the floor for nominations for Treasurer. The question was brought forth three times. No nominations were made from the floor.

Raleigh Sandy made a motion to close the nominations for Treasurer. BobbieJo Koski seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Raleigh Sandy made a motion to accept Jerry Gray as Treasurer by acclamation. Pastor Niles Strohl seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Spiritual Director

BC opened the floor for nominations for Spiritual Director. The question was brought forth three times. No nominations were made from the floor.

Raleigh Sandy made a motion to close the nominations for Spiritual Director. Heather Whitehead seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

BobbieJo Koski made a motion to accept Pastor G. Karl Gaston as Spiritual Director by acclamation. Carol Larson seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Vice President of Administration

BC opened the floor for nominations for VPA.

Augie Calsyn made a motion nominating Randy Poisel for VPA. Lorraine Huynh seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

After three calls for nominations were made, Raleigh Sandy made a motion to close the nominations for VPA. Elisha Barnett seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Presentation of Financial Statements and the Proposed 2024-2025 Budget

Treasurer Steve Barnett presented the financial statements and the proposed budget for 2024-2025. Steve answered questions raised. It was noted that of the 38 affiliated secretariats, NLS has received prior fiscal year dues from 29 secretariats.

Other Items

BC shared that NLS is regularly hosting Lay Director and SD roundtables via Zoom. Mark Hammond asked how NLS updates our database as some individuals in these roles are not receiving notice of the roundtable meetings. Carolyn gave a brief explanation for the process followed. She encouraged all secretariats to share a current leadership roster to <u>secretary@viadecristo.org</u> to help remediate any existing issues.

John Aclin provided an update regarding the Website Committee work.

Prayer and Recess

Pastor G. Karl led a prayer of thanksgiving.

Carol Larson made a motion to recess the meeting until Saturday, July 27th. BobbieJo Koski seconded the motion. The motion passed unanimously.

Saturday, July 27, 2024

Quorum declaration

Carolyn confirmed that the delegates present in the room at the Plaza Hotel continued to constitute a quorum. At least one authorized delegate representing 30 secretariats and all seven regions were present.

Call to Order and Prayer

BC reconvened the NLSAM and Pastor G. Karl prayed.

National Via de Cristo Scholarship

BC presented the scholarship concept and facilitated a discussion on the topic.

Dave Lambert made a motion to move forward with establishing the foundation for a national scholarship. BobbieJo Koski Huynh seconded the motion. The motion passed with four dissenting votes.

NLS Goals Review

BC reviewed the goals set forth by the NLSEC for the year and summarized the progress.

Election and Budget Approval

Delegates filled out paper ballots for Vice President of Administration and to approve or disapprove the proposed 2024-2025 budget. Pastor G. Karl, Brian Schwartz, and Steve Barnett tabulated the results.

Budget – The proposed 2024-2025 budget was approved.

Election – Carolyn Witham was elected to the NLSEC as the Vice President of Administration.

John Aclin made a motion to destroy the ballots. Kim Brownlow seconded the motion. There was no discussion. The motion passed unanimously.

2025 Host Committee Presentation

David Deeds, Western North Carolina, invited all to attend the 2025 NLSAG in the western region of North Carolina. He shared that the location and dates have not yet been confirmed.

Adjournment

A motion to adjourn the 2024 NLSAM was made by Heather Whitehead, seconded by Tom Kirk, and then passed unanimously.

Closing Prayer

Pastor G. Karl closed the meeting with prayer.

Next Meeting

The next NLSAG will be hosted by Western North Carolina. The exact location and date are to be determined.

Respectfully submitted,

Carolyn Witham

NLS Secretary

*Due to a delayed flight, 29 secretariats were represented on Thursday and 30 secretariats were represented on Saturday